I’d Rather Have Jesus

I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold;
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands.
I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hands.

I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause;
I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
I’d rather have Jesus than world-wide fame.
I’d rather be true to His holy name.

He’s fairer than lilies of rarest bloom;
He’s sweeter than honey from out the comb;
He’s all that my hungering spirit needs.
I’d rather have Jesus and let Him lead.

Than to be the king of a vast domain
Or be held in sin’s dread sway.
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
this world affords today.

Really?

Would we rather have Jesus than anything this world affords today? What cause do we as Christians, or anybody, have to want Christ above status? What cause do we have to want Christ above possession? What cause do we have to want Christ above popularity? What does Christ get you in this world? Status? Success? Fame? Popularity? Lots of possessions?

What does Christ get you that’s beneficial? Anything? We read about persecution, torture, death, pursuit, but do we ever see popularity? Or fame? Or wealth? What do you think? Is He worth persecution, torture, death, pursuit, or all of the above? Is He to you?

What is God to you? Is He some Ruler in the sky, controlling you like a puppet? Or is He like a puppet master, who let go of the strings? Is He a God who sits back and watches from off-stage? Or is He a companion, running always with you wherever you go? Is He a helper, or is He helpless? Is He dominator of your life? Who’s ruling your decisions, anyway? How did you come to the conclusion to the above questions? Did you come to the conclusions? Or did God come to the conclusions for you without your knowledge? What is He in your life? What is He to you?

4 thoughts on “I’d Rather Have Jesus

Thanks for reading! Comments are appreciated.

