Proverbs 29

Hey, welcome back to A Message for the Messenger!

Look at verse 2: “When the righteous thrive, the people rejoice; when the wicked rule the people groan.” (See Proverbs 28 verse 12 for further explanation.) If your actions upon your subject are evil, your subjects would have reason to groan and cause up-rise. But if your actions were good and pleasing to your subjects, then they would be content and calm.

Here’s 6: “Evildoers are snared by their own sin, but the righteous shout for joy and are glad.” This is because the evildoers are caught in sin, but the righteous are blameless and, when searched, are found innocent of sin.

Look at 11: “Fools give full vent to their rage, but the wise bring calm in the end.” Anger leads to destruction. The wise know how to control their anger. The fools don’t. When they get angry, they go around destroying stuff – the wrong way to handle it.

Here is verse 15: “A rod and a reprimand impart wisdom, but a child left undisciplined disgraces its mother.” As an older brother to a 14-month-old (just turned 14 months today!), I am witnessing first-hand the pain and importance of discipline. As a 12-year old myself who’s been disciplined in a like manner, I see the necessity of this discipline. Not saying that I’m perfect in the least, I’m just saying I’ve seen the other option.

16: “When the wicked thrive, so does sin, but the righteous will see their downfall.” The righteous hate wickedness. Hate it. They want to destroy it from the face of the earth, like God did (Gen. 6: 5-7). But, just as happened to God, wickedness rises up from deep within the heart of someone, and spreads like wildfire.

Here’s 22: “An angry person stirs up conflict, and a hot-tempered person commits many sins.” anger is a very dangerous thing. If you are hot-tempered, ask God to take away your temper! It’s a dangerous thing.

Look at 25: “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.” If you are caught up with caring about what the audience in front of you thinks, you will be glorifying man, not God. But if you think “You know what I’m doing this for God. I don’t care what they think. I’m doing this for Him!” That is glorifying God. Go to In All Things and you will get a bigger explanation from Taylor Beavers!

Lastly, look at verse 27: “The righteous detest the dishonest, the wicked detest the upright.” Wow. So they both hate each other. Well, if you notice, parts of Proverbs are like a Loony Tunes show. The wicked keep digging pits for the righteous to fall in, but the righteous miss them. Then the wicked are caught in their own trap. Hit by the anvil. Fell off the cliff. whatever the case may be, they always – without fail – are defeated by one of two people – God (working through the righteous) or themselves. Just over and over again! The wicked never gain the sense to stop fighting the righteous and get the wisdom to see their folly and confess and repent!

(For those of y’all in Texas) Y’all enjoy this Texas weather this week!

Ryan

Mark 16:15

4 thoughts on “Proverbs 29

  1. Nice post today, Ryan! And thanks for the link referral!

    So, I tried to follow you, but I can’t because I am not registered with WordPress, cause I use Blogger instead. So, while I am following you by email, I’m afraid I can’t with WordPress.

    Now, I am off to enjoy this beautiful Texas day, fishing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you enjoyed it! You’re welcome; just found out how to do that today, actually!
      Yes, I figured that out. I added the special WordPress follow widget for WordPress users. However, there isn’t any other way for you to follow me but via email. Anyway, thanks for letting me know!

      I’m glad! Enjoy Texas – while you can!

      Like

      • Uh, yeah, Taylor, that’s what I implied. I meant ’cause you were moving to GA! Of course, if you forget to pray before your meal or something else, you might be struck by lightning from heaven, but I don’t have anything else in mind. 🙂

        Like

Thanks for reading! Comments are appreciated.

