Proverbs 5

Howdy! I bet you never guessed we’d be covering Proverbs chapter 5 today. Well, you’d be right. Let’s get at it, then!
Chapter 5:1-6 is a warning against adulterous women and to pursue wisdom: “My son, pay attention to my wisdom, turn your ear to my words of insight, that you may maintain discretion and your lips may preserve knowledge. For the lips of the adulterous woman drip honey, and her speech is smoother than oil; but in the end she is bitter as gall, sharp as a two-edged sword. Her feet go down to death; her steps lead straight to the grave. She gives no thought to the way of life; her paths wander aimlessly, but she does not know it.” If you think about it, you think to yourself, “Wow, I could detect that in an instant”. But, you can’t. It isn’t easy to detect it until it’s too late. Now, let’s look at His warning about her in verses 7-10: “Now then, my sons, listen to me; do not turn aside from what I say. Keep to a path far from her, do not go near the door of her house, lest you lose your honor to others and your dignity to one who is cruel, lest strangers feast on your wealth and your toil enrich the house of another.” The path furthest from the path of death has to be the path of life. So we’re supposed to follow the path of life, and stay away from the adulterous women. That’s pretty clear. Let’s move on to verses 11-14: “At the end of your life you will groan, when your flesh and body are spent. You will say, “How I hated discipline! How my heart spurned correction! I would not obey my teachers or turn my ear to my instructors. And I was soon in serious trouble in the Assembly of God’s people.”” I truly, honestly believe these are the results of following those types of people; not just the adulterous women. Your heart and mind is so engulfed in the wickedness that you don’t pay attention to advice or correction or discipline. And then, after all your money and flesh and body are spent, you will regret all the decisions you made in your young man-hood. And then, you will be in serious trouble with God and his people. Don’t follow that path!
Let’s move on to verses 20-23. Go ahead and read them.
I want to examine 20-21 closer: “Why, my son, be intoxicated with another man’s wife? Why embrace the bosom of a wayward woman? For your ways are in full view of the LORD, and he examines all your paths.” The LORD watches all you do, and he knows everything everyone else doesn’t. Why go into sin when you know God knows all of it and He will punish you? It’s not worth it. Don’t go into that gate of death. Don’t be like the many going into the gate of death. I hope you will honor God with your choices today and may He bless you!

-Ryan
Mark 16:15

Thanks for reading! Comments are appreciated.

