Proverbs 3

Hey again! Hope you got a great night of sleep last night! Well, let’s get started. Turn in your Bible to Proverbs 3. Today, however, we’re going to practice comparing translations. This can be a very fun and an interesting thing. So, turn in your NIV to Proverbs 3, and read verses 1-6. See if you notice anything similar to the last two beginnings of the chapters we’ve covered.
Compare it to your KJV. (If you don’t have this version or any other versions I use, the website I listed has them.) Read the same verses.
There are several differences, aren’t there? I’m not sure about you, but I have a newer NIV, so it will be different in a lot of ways from the KJV. What stands out to you about the first six verses? Here’s the thing that’s the same: The first few verses always talk about how to get wisdom! And normally, somewhere in the first verse it mentions the words “son” or “sons”. I believe that it’s because it’s important for everyone to read this, but especially young men, or “sons”. Young men are drawn to the world, there are traps Satan has set specifically for us. But we have to have wisdom and discernment to avoid them.
Speaking of that, I will put the website I used to use. (If you have Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance, that’s fine, you can use it.) We will research the word “Wisdom”. Go to the website listed in yesterday’s post and go into the thing called the “library”. Next, click on “Concordances”. Then, click on “Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance”.
We will see how important this subject is. It mentions the word wisdom is used 222 times, and the word wise is used 237 times. If wisdom wasn’t important, it wouldn’t be mentioned that much. The word’s wisdom and wise are used 459 times total! But young men need to have wisdom; they need to be on their guard against Satan’s schemes.
Let’s move on to verses 7-8.
How can obedience to the LORD bring you health? It’s good for you to be obedient to God; it can help your health. It does sound strange. Moving on to verse 9.
“Honor the LORD with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops;” Now hold on here. Let’s compare this to another verse in Matthew. The exact reference is Matthew 6:3-4. It says, “But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” So don’t confuse the verse in Proverbs and say to yourself, “I need my friends to see me give this check for $100.50 in the box! I’ll just lure their attention to it.” Don’t let them know! Which is better – a reward from God, or having your friend see your check amount?
So now let’s move on. Verses 13-18. Do take notes on these verses. It’s a lot better. Please record your personal thoughts in a notebook or journal. However, I am going to write my thoughts on the verses.
How can you find anything better than silver or gold or rubies? Than riches, and honor? Well, you can’t. Wisdom is the greatest thing.
Now let’s move on to the rest of the chapter. I’ll let you read it and decide for yourself what you think. I put my thoughts in here to encourage you and show you what young men are thinking. Now here’s something else: How young is a young man? I think it depends. It all depends on how mature this young man is. Now, I’m not saying I’m mature in the least, I have been told I am a young man. And I trust the word of my parents more than no other. I hope you will live your young man-hood according to the Bible, and do not stray from the path. 1 Corinthians 13:11 says “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man I put childish ways behind me.” Matthew 7:13-14 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” My hope for you is that you are one of the few that find that gate, and that you will lead others to it. I hope this has helped you in any way and I hope you will share this with a friend. Please have a great day and may you honor Him with it.

-Ryan
Mark 16:15

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 3

Thanks for reading! Comments are appreciated.

