Proverbs 1

I’m so glad you’re taking the time to join me today! I hope this blesses you!
So, let’s get started. Turn to Proverbs chapter 1, verse 2. Let me just say that verses 2-4 are things that add to and make up wisdom. Let’s look at them: “For gaining wisdom and instruction; for understanding words of insight; for receiving instruction in prudent behavior, doing what is right and just and fair; for giving prudence to those who are simple, knowledge and discretion to the young-“ let’s pause right here. These are all wonderful things to possess. But what do they lead to? We’ll see in verse 5 here: “let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance.” Well, some of you might be thinking, “How do you let someone do something?” This is more of letting us know that if you ARE wise then you WILL listen, and you WILL get guidance. Get the picture? Now, even more of you are probably thinking, “How does that answer our question?” Well, you probably (like I did!) misread it. In my ESV, it says “To know wisdom and instruction…” So, what it’s saying is in order to know, or to have wisdom and knowledge and everything else, you have to listen and accept guidance.
Let’s move on to verse 7 now. It says:
“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.” So how do you fear the LORD? Well, let’s see what “fear” is defined as: “Awe; reverence. To feel reverence or awe for”. (For you that looked that up also, I had to scan through to find the correct definition I was looking for.)
So you now know that it’s reverence to God, but fools despise wisdom and instruction. That really makes you think “Wow, good thing I’m not a fool!” But if I actually think about myself, I don’t like to accept instruction or correction. So does that mean I’m a fool? Well, yes, it does.
So now, let’s look at verses 20-31. I will let you look those up. I do recommend this but do not require that you take personal notes. It personalizes your studies and makes it into your thoughts more.
Now that you’re done reading, let’s go over it AGAIN and dig deeper. Let’s look at what it’s saying in verse 22:
“How long will you who are simple love your simple ways? How long will mockers delight in mockery and fools hate knowledge? Repent at my rebuke!” How strong is that? At the bottom of my NIV, it has a small a next to the word “simple”. It says, “The Hebrew word rendered simple in Proverbs denotes a person who is gullible, without moral direction and inclined to evil.” Notice it says “in Proverbs”. That means anytime you find the word simple, it means the same thing.
What I want you to do is open yourselves, look inside of you. What do you see? Do you see mockery? Hatred of knowledge? Deceit? Are you simple? Do you desire to learn more in God’s Word? Recently I’ve been struggling with that. But, I’ve made a commitment directly to God to get more into His word.
Now let’s look into Proverbs 1 27-31. But before you do, have you ever heard someone tell you “Well, serves you right” or “It’s a taste of your own medicine”? I hear that all the time. But this proverb sums it all up as true! Go ahead and read.
Let’s zero in on verses 30-31. They say, “Since they would not accept my advice and spurned my rebuke, they will eat the fruit of their ways and be filled with the fruit of their schemes.” Let’s say that Timmy was warned that if he ate the dessert he would be sick; but he did it anyway and suffered the consequences. That’s what this Scripture shows us.
I hope this has helped you and has possibly helped you with struggles. It’s amazing how God can work through situations. Well, I hope you all have a great day!

-Ryan
Mark 16:15

Thanks for reading! Comments are appreciated.

